Why I Love Styling

When I was little, I would cut out patterns out of old fabrics for my barbie dolls to wear.

One of my designs that comes to mind is this simple matching set tank crop top and mini skirt I made out of VELVET! This was back in the early 2000’s y’all! I brought velvet back before it even went out of style.

I’d say that my affinity for style and fashion started very early. However, it wasn’t always all love when it comes to fashion. For a long time, I had a hard time seeing beyond the oftentimes shallow surface of the industry.

I yearned for something to be passionate about other than the luxurious aesthetic of the Birkin; I needed more. The runway shows didn’t do it for me, the newest edition of Vogue didn’t quench my thirst for the humanity behind the industry.

I never found that raison d’être until I started styling people. The thing about styling people  is that it can be very rewarding.

When I get a client that walks in anxious and leaves beaming because they found something and not just that, but they found something they look fucking fantastic in, it honestly makes my heart swell -corny I know.

I love that they put that much confidence in me and that they leave genuinely happy. I don’t know about y’all but a new outfit makes me feel like doing somersaults in a field of daisies.

These moments are everything to me; they’re why I’am proud to style people. I live for genuine moments, with genuine people, filled with genuine happiness. I hope I always have a career where I get to make someone’s day a little better.

Leave a Reply

